Attempting Social Media 6 – twitter


twitter

  1. Facebook
  2. YouTube
  3. Wikipedia
  4. Blogger.com
  5. Twitter
  6. LinkedIn
  7. WordPress.com
  8. Flickr

I’m going to skip Blogger.com because it sounds boring and I’ve heard it’s much the same as WordPress but with less widgets and customisation.

I signed up to Twitter when I first made my blog because I wanted to utilise the Twitter widget here on WordPress. Since signing up I have only ‘tweeted’ when a new post is up. I already have 19 ‘followers’…. god knows what they’re ‘following’ exactly….

Upon signing up I was forced to choose at least 5 people/companies to follow. I didn’t want to follow anyone right then and there because I didn’t even know what I was doing so just clicked on random things. Because of this, I know get bombarded with tweets from random people. These tweets give me a headache especially with all the hashtags and @ signs and dashes. Most of them don’t even make sense.

When I read about Twitter and the use within/for business I thought it sounded like a great idea; keeping all your suppliers/customers/stakeholders up-to-date. After experiencing it for myself however, I now have a more negative view. The ‘tweets’ are so short (being the whole essence of ‘micro-blogging’) that it all seems pointless. You couldn’t possibly find anything really informative. The interesting tweets would require you to click outside the Twitter pages to find the real info on another site.
If that’s your whole plan though, to advertise another webpage or site, then it works well. I guess it’s like an RSS feeder by simplifying every bit of content into smaller bite-sized pieces that are easy to skim through. Users are unlikely to spend hours trawling through the home page/feed like they would on say Facebook because of tiny to-the-point (or without point) sentences. You don’t really get absorbed with tweets as you do with your friends’ Facebook stories/posts.

Haha I just realised I don’t have 19 followers but rather I am following 19 people. I have 1 single follower. That’s a bit embarrassing. Shows how behind I am with all this social media!

One thought on “Attempting Social Media 6 – twitter

  1. Haha, totally. That’s crap that you have to follow stuff straight away. You can turn off the tweets from people you don’t know :)

Leave a Reply

